Hair Loss Advisory

The "everything" hair site!

About Hair
Hair Loss
About Hair
Hair Cycle
Facts and Myths
Hair Styles for Ballding Men

Reason for Hair Loss
Male Pattern Baldness
Female Pattern Baldness
Hair Loss in Children
Hair Loss Types
Hair Loss Symptoms
Psychological Reasons

Hair Transplants
How Restoration Works
Strip Incision
Follicular Unit Extraction
Finding a Doctor
Alternatives to Surgery
The Future of Hair

Advertise with us
Submit an Article
Place your Ad

Click here to stop hair loss.Hair Cycle

There are three main phases that each individual hair goes through in the progression of the hair growth cycle.

  • Anagen is the active hair growth phase that can last up to five years.
  • Catagen is a period of regression. By the fifth year the hair follicle enters a resting period where gets ready to shed. This phase normally lasts between two to four weeks.
  • Telogen is the stage where a hair follicle reaches the end of its life and falls out. While people on average shed fifty to one hundred of these hairs a day, each hair follicle will renew itself and enter a new growth cycle. This phase can last up to four months. Not more than ten percent of follicles are in resting phase at any given time.

New Hair Growth Cycle
All hairs are not visible on the surface of the skin at the same time. The varying stages in the growth cycle determine how hair grows. Following the first three stages of the hair growth cycle, the hair is shed, and the follicle moves into a dormant period. When the dormant period is over the cells that produce hair begin a new cycle.

A healthy head of hair contains approximately one hundred thousand hairs that should grow at the rate of about half an inch per month. When the hair loss cycle is interrupted hair loss may occur.


links - disclaimer - site map